The top decision-making body of the party thinks they will play a better role in the field with its own unique characteristics as an ideological organization

Khelafat Majlis on Friday quit the BNP-led 20-party alliance as the party thinks it has become an “ineffective” opposition platform.

Acting secretary general advocate M Jahangir Hossain came up with the announcement from a press conference held at a restaurant in Dhaka after a meeting of the Majlish-e-Shura.

The meeting unanimously decided to part away with the 20-party alliance, he said during the briefing.

Jahangir said Khelafat Majlis has been there in the 20-party alliance for 22 long years but they noticed that the alliance has had no visible political activities and programs since 2019.“The 20-party alliance was apparently made ineffective through the formation of Jatiya Oikya Front since 2018,” he said.

“Considering the ideological, organizational position and political situation, our party’s Majlis-e-Shura today decided that Khelafat Majlis will play a better role in the field with its own unique characteristics as an ideological organization. We’re severing relations with all political alliances, including the 20-party one, from now on,” Jahangir said.Replying to a question, he said their party will not involve with any other political alliance.

Earlier, around 200 members of Majlis-e-Shura joined the meeting with Moulana Ishaq in the chair.Former secretary general of Khelafat Majlis Mamunul Haque has been in jail since his arrest on April 18 in connection with dozens of cases filed over violence during Hefazat-e-Islam’s protest programs.

On July 14, a faction of Jamiat-e Ulama-e-Islam quit the alliance.

In 1999, the BNP-led four-party alliance was formed to intensify the movement against the then Awami League-led government. The alliance got a massive victory in the 2001 election.

The four-party alliance was expanded to a 20-party one in 2012, but many of its partners, including Islami Oikya Jote (IOJ), Bangladesh Jatiya Party (BJP), National Awami Party (NAP) and National Democratic Party (NDP) left the party at different times.

By admin